Goals and Challenges

2015 is the first year in a very long time that I begin without a resolution list in my hands.  It’s not exactly because I 100% believe Calvin…

Screenshot 2015-01-10 09.10.46

…but it’s more because of what I read here last year – A Year of Productivity – So, I made a list of goals.  There are areas of my life I want to improve, and since in a way, we’re still getting settled here in this city, I wanted to make sure I was purposefully taking a more active role in the community I now live in.  Also, the weather this time of the year is truly hard on me.  I can’t recall being a moody person, at least not since I left my teenage years! But, when the sun doesn’t come out or I have to wear 3+layers to barely stay warm, my mood is not the best. My only desire is to stay under the covers all day, and my motivation and energy are all pretty much gone! So, publishing some of my goals adds a degree of accountability I need, at least until Spring arrives, to encourage me to do what I say I will do, and also to be motivated to do it.  If you’re reading this, then, you’re part of my accountability group 🙂

Among my goals is the desire to write more and to continue exploring my creative side with crafts and projects around the house, in spite of my time-consuming job. However, with the weather situation, I feel like I’m complaining a lot and not enjoying the incredible amount of blessings I do have in my life. Last night when I couldn’t sleep, I ran into this –

Screenshot 2015-01-10 08.31.02

– and it was perfect! It’s a challenge that appeals to me, it’s not incredibly difficult, it’s attainable since I’ll have a whole week to think about what I will blog, and it’ll help me stay focused on the positive aspects of my life. I love the fact I don’t have to write about the weather until week 18, and that I’ll have a year to come up with a blog about the things I like about Winter (insert sardonic grin). But, in all seriousness, I do need this. I believe I’m a grateful person, but when I’ve been blessed as much as I have, gratitude is not something I ever want to overlook.   Thus, this post. Week #1, check!

4 thoughts on “Goals and Challenges

  1. Hi Maria,
    As reading your post I had a couple ideas that might help you with winter.
    Daylight light bulbs in your house, Ian installed bulbs (no 959 to do it for us, haha!) that give a natural light and it make the house so much brighter.
    A “Wake-up light”, Phillips makes one and it mimics a sun rise it, it helps your body wake up more naturally instead of abruptly to a regular alarm clock.
    Take up a winter outdoor sport or activity, I know its cold but fresh air is good, and if you are moving around it will help keep you warm. Snowshoeing maybe? I always like hiking in the same areas throughout the year to watch how they change, every season is beautiful in its own way. Take your camera along and see what you can find. 🙂
    ((Hugs))

    • Kristin,
      Thank you so much for your suggestions!!! I have ordered the light, and we’re looking into the lightbulbs.
      We definitely need to do more outside, but, with my job, there are days when I just don’t see the sun because of how early I get to my classroom, how late I leave, and the pesky short days, since the sun seems to need more rest 😉 Your pictures look beautiful with all the snow, though! We just have dreary, dead-looking trees and tons of rain… I know it’ll pass, and that’s why I’m trying to focus on the positive 🙂

  2. I like your suggestions Kristin. I guess you are the “Ice Queen!” 🙂
    I love the Gratitude list, I think when we try to think harder about the smallest things we are grateful for, we find more “beauty” around us.

    Love you!!
    I am looking forward to the next 51 posts 🙂

Your thoughts are welcome :)

